Built in 1891, the granite lookout was used by Sennen coastguards to keep an eye on the often treacherous waters that crash over the rocky reef below, know as the Longships, and the adventurous marine travellers that passed by. The building fell into a derelict state after its decommission in the 1940's, until it was pulled in under the National Trust wing and refurbished over 50 years later. The lookout came to belong to the National Trust due to the mysterious and rather wonderful group, 'Ferguson's Gang', who gifted the Mayon Cliffs to the Trust. Their dedicated battle to protect English heritage led them to hijinks and stunts to attract attention (anonymously of course) and raised funds for the National Trust, believing them to be best placed, and most devoted to the same cause. Much of the interpretation in the Lookout has been developed as an historical representation of the gang and their work, but it also showcases the high level of appreciation and gratitude held by the National Trust for this band of five mysterious women.
Leo and Becky have been able to enjoy wielding their pens and flaunting their illustrative prowess to create large wall graphics for the inside of the Lookout. One illustration visually depicts the concept the Ferguson Gang held of the sprawling octopus of urban development taking over the landscape and destroying important places of heritage as it smashed its way across the country.